What do you teach?
I'm certified to teach several courses, including three NRA-certified courses. My primary and most often requested class is the NRA Home Firearm Safety. This course is accepted by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts as a prerequisite to applying for a Class A License to Carry (LTC). The Commonwealth also accepts other courses I teach as meeting the same requirement, such as the NRA's Practical Pistol courses.
I also teach a 2-hour live fire course on an outdoor range. This course is accepted by the Longmeadow Police Department as sufficient training to be issued a full, unrestricted license.
I'm also certified by the State of Utah to teach their Non-Resident CCW course, allowing non-residents to carry firearms concealed in 30 states.
For Retired Law Enforcement Officers I'm now certified to teach the LEOSA Course, certifying them to carry a firearms concealed in all 50 states.
How much is the course?
$150 for 1 student, $125 each for 2 students, $100 each for 3 or 4 students, $90 Each for 5, 6, or 7 students; and, only $75 each for 8 or more students.
The Utah Non-Resident gun permit class is only $25 when added on to the MA LTC class.
Also, a class of 10 or more students the host will receive a FREE custom-designed coffee mug!
What materials do you bring to the class?
I'll bring a CD with over 600mb worth of hand-outs, non-firing ammunition, and unloaded firearms so you can handle them and see how they function differently (no firing or loading of actual ammunition will be permitted in the class). At the successful completion of the class I'll issue your MA State Police Basic Firearms Safety Certificate which you'll submit with your LTC application and, if appropriate, the UT certificate, too.
How often and when do you hold classes?
Rather than wait for a minimal number of students to enroll in pre-scheduled classes, I teach one-on-one, at your home. If you choose to arrange a small group, that's fine, too. Late mornings, afternoons, early evenings, Sundays — it's at your convenience, not mine. The class takes up to four hours so planning for it is easy. I can instruct more than one member of the family (or friends) at one time but I can only certify those over 21 years of age for an LTC while those aged 15-20 can be certified to earn their FID.
How do I schedule a private class?
Just complete and send the Contact Me link on this site and I'll reply to you by email. Or you can call me anytime at 508-735-4400.